Bharat NCAP Car Safety Ratings To Be Finalised Soon


As the awareness towards safer cars are getting high and the government is positive towards the safety of cars, India’s own crash test organisation is coming out really soon. The Bharat NCAP (New Car Assessment Program) will be having its own safety protocols which are similar to the Global NCAP. So, in this article, we are going to talk about the new Bharat NCAP initiative.

Read: BNVSAP and Why India Needs Its Own Crash Test Safety Standard

Subscribe To The GoMechanic YouTube Channel

Also Read: 10 Most Googled Questions On BNVSAP, Answered!

More about the Bharat NCAP Program

As we mentioned already, the Bharat NCAP will be having its own safety protocols. Recently the Minister of Road Transport and Highways India, Nitin Gadkari has announced that all vehicles which carry upto 8 passengers should be equipped with 6 airbags. This shows that the Government is slowly paying attention to the safety of all cars. And, all the upcoming cars will be going through a crash test conducted by the Bharat NCAP.

Mahindra XUV 500 road accident in India

The New Bharat NCAP will be following these tests:

  1. Full Vehicle Crash Test Facility

    A full vehicle crash test will be done and the ratings will be given according to the vehicle’s performance in a full-frontal impact, offset frontal impact, side-impact and rear impact. This also includes pole side-impact, crumple zone test, airbag integration and deployment and post-crash fuel leakage evaluation.

  2. Pedestrian Protection and Occupant Protection Test

    This test tests all the safety measures which are taken by the company to ensure the safety of pedestrians and all the occupants in the vehicle. This test includes Pedestrian protection tests with TRL Legform, adult and child head forms, body block and head impact tests, full test of the integrated seat belts, airbag deployment test, ISOFIX child seat installation test and side door intrusion test.

  3. Commercial Vehicle Testing Certification Facility

    Here, they test the commercial vehicle’s safety. This includes the test of small commercial vehicles to big lorries and buses. Here the testing includes cabin strength, front-impact, side-impact, roof strength and rear wall strength test.
    This also includes testing of passenger buses for rollover and strength of superstructure, tilt stability test, the centre of gravity tests for buses and commercial vehicles and component fitment & installation tests.

Suggested: Global NCAP vs ASEAN NCAP vs Euro NCAP vs BNVSAP | Explained

BNVSAP (Bharat New Vehicle Safety Assessment Program)

So this is an article about the implementation of the Bharat NCAP. After this programme, we hope that the buyers will be more aware of the safety standards of the products they are buying.

Subscribe To The GoMechanic YouTube Channel 🔥