Wednesday, December 7, 2022
HomeFeatured ArticlesGoMechanic InformativeTata Harrier Safety Rating - Where Is It?

Tata Harrier Safety Rating – Where Is It?

In the last 5 years, Tata has been shelling out extremely well-built and safe cars. Be it the Tiago, Tigor, Altroz, Nexon, or the Punch, all Tata cars have a minimum 4-star safety rating. However, Tata’s flagship SUVs, the Tata Harrier and the Safari don’t have their safety ratings yet. Here’s why the Herrier and Safari haven’t been tested by GNCAP yet.

  • Why hasn’t GNCAP picked up the Tata Harrier for a test?

Well, the Global NCAP only self-picks up cars that are categorized as popular, ie, cars that have been selling in huge numbers. While the Tata Harrier and the Safari are very popular amongst buyers, their sales numbers are not that high because they fall into the slightly expensive category. Moreover, Tata hasn’t voluntarily sent these cars up to the GNCAP because it is possible that these SUVs will not score a perfect 5-star rating.

Punjab Kings and their cars

  • Why might theTata Harrier not score a 5-Star Rating?

We all know that the Tata Harrier and the Safari come with only one engine. This is the 2.0L Multijet diesel sourced from Jeep. Well, this engine was primarily designed for left-hand drive cars. When moved to a right-hand drive setup, the oil filter assembly engine comes really close to the Accelerator, Brake and Clutch assembly of the car. So in the event of a crash, it is possible that some parts of this assembly might protrude into the cabin and cause some injuries to the driver’s legs. This stands true for all right-hand drive cars that use this engine. The Indian variant of the Jeep Compass and the MG Hector also have not been tested for the same reasons.Tata Harrier vs Tata Safari

  • Is it a big safety issue?

In my personal opinion, this is not a huge safety issue. The only reason why these SUVs have not gone through the test is that Tata doesn’t want their flagship SUV to get a 4-Star rating. This doesn’t mean that the Tata Harrier, Safari, Jeep Compass, or MG Hector are not safe. These SUVs are very well built and can surely keep you safe. Moreover, Tata is working on their own petrol version of the Harrier and the Safari. Once this is a sealed deal, they just might get them tested and get the five stars!

So here’s why the Tata Harrier and the Safari haven’t been tested by the GNCAP yet. What would you like ot read next? Let us know in the comments below!

Deeply interested in automobiles and the automotive industry. Anything that moves on wheels interests me. Sit back, and follow the blog as I write my way through the Automotive Revolution!


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Trending Articles

GoMechanic Newsletter