Use Code BLOG50 on the
app and get upto 50% OFF
Saturday, July 20, 2024
HomeLatest Car NewsVehicles Registered In Ladakh To Get ‘LA’ Number Plates

Vehicles Registered In Ladakh To Get ‘LA’ Number Plates

The Indian Government has officially updated a section in the Motor Vehicles Act, 1988 which specifies the designated registration held by vehicles of every state and union territories in India. To begin with, ‘LA’ will be specified on the license plate of every road-legal vehicle registered in the newly formed union territory of Ladakh.

Must Read: New Motor Vehicle Amendment To Be Implemented From January 2020

‘LA’ Number Plates for Vehicles Registered In Ladakh
‘LA’ Number Plates for Vehicles Registered In Ladakh

The government had taken the decision on August 5 to nullify Article 370 of the Constitution and has now withdrawn Jammu and Kashmir’s special status and has further bifurcated the state into two Union Territories. Before its bifurcation, vehicles that were registered in this region came with a “JK” plate. Jammu and Kashmir (J&K) were officially split into two Union territories on October 31.

Suggested Read: Indian Oil Launches BS6 Compliant Winter Grade Diesel

The ministry of road transport and highways in a notification on Wednesday stated that this newly formed law will help the system to categorise cars, scooters and other vehicles from those registered in what was previously the state of Jammu and Kashmir.

In the recent Jammu and Kashmir Reorganisation Act of 2019, which came into effect from October 31, 2019, stated that Ladakh has now become two separate Union Territories of Jammu & Kashmir and Ladakh.

However, the cars registered in the Union Territory of Jammu and Kashmir will continue to carry their original ‘JK’ designation.

Scoop! Voluntary Vehicle Fleet Modernisation Program | Government’s Vehicle Swap Scheme

Jaskaran Singh Bhola
Jaskaran Singh Bholahttps://gomechanic.in/blog
Senior Content Strategist at GoMechanic | Avid Honda lover | VTEC for life! | Foodie | Remember who you are; the best or nothing!


  1. Thanks for providing interesting content. Your website provide great value to us thanks once again for providing this valuable content.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Trending Articles